Поиск по этому блогу

воскресенье, 6 марта 2016 г.

Shirley Johnson - Blues Attack

Bitrate: 320K/s
Year: 2009
Time: 63:46
Size: 146,8 MB
Label: Delmark
Styles: Blues
Art: Full

Tracks Listing:
 1. You're Reckless - 4:59
 2. Blues Attack - 4:26
 3. My Baby Played Me For A Fool - 3:40
 4. 634-5789 - 3:15
 5. Just Like That - 4:49
 6. You Shouldn't Have Been There - 5:19
 7. I'm Going To Find Me A Lover - 3:53
 8. Felt So Good - 4:05
 9. Unchain My Heart - 6:15
10. Selfish Kind Of Gal - 3:46
11. Take Your Foor Off My Back - 5:02
12. Lost And Alone - 3:10
13. Let It Rain - 6:25
14. You Just Using Me - 4:34

Shirley Johnson has toiled regularly in Chicago nightspots for decades, and follows up her successful Delmark CD Killer Diller with this set of originals and soul standards, sporting all of the rich tradition and solid singing style made popular by many less talented vocalists. Her voice is well preserved, not evidencing any abuse or overuse, and represents the best in this tradition of female artists who recognize aspects of being played, while answering with a few tricks and schemes of their own. Johnson is truly a great blues singer, with a deeper tone than Chi-Town contemporary Koko Taylor, refined in a similar manner to her main influence and fellow Norfolk, VA, native Ruth Brown, with a wise, doting attitude a la Mavis Staples. She has solid support from up to a six-piece horn section on a handful of tracks, backup singers, and her band with guitarist Luke Pytel, keyboardist Roosevelt Purifoy, bassist Lovely Fuller, Jr., and drummer Cordell Teague, all quite able, competent bluesmen. Though Maurice John Vaughn does not play guitar on this date, he is present and accounted for in composing or co-composing five of the songs. "You're Reckless" is a typical stern bad lover blues shuffle; "Selfish Kind of Gal" flips the switch as Johnson adopts a choogling beat while stating in an insular manner that she's "breakin' hearts and havin' fun"; and the potential hit "Lost and Alone" is at once demanding and unsettled, with the singer unwilling to put up with "second hand crap." "You Shouldn't Have Been There" has Johnson singing a ballad of regret or possible two-timing, and goes 180 degrees again in a ray of hope and movin' on during "I'm Going to Find Me a Lover." Ever mindful of her status as a soul veteran, she does great versions of the Stax classic "634-5789" from the book of Wilson Pickett and the Ray Charles evergreen "Unchain My Heart" with a marvelous free intro, both with her backup singers. Johnson's bandmembers also contribute songs, as Purifoy wrote the slower, funky, contemporary "My Baby Played Me for a Fool." Fuller co-penned the title track, referring not to a militaristic attack or heart attack but rather a blues attack, as also heard on the classic-style 12-bar "Just Like That" and the combo funk/retro-soul song of dismissal "Take Your Foot Off My Back." Shirley Johnson has been around the north side of Chicago since the early '80s, and if you are in her neighborhood, you owe it to yourself to check one of her performances out. Meanwhile, this excellent recording will do just fine instead.

Blues Attack

Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий